SEO website fix up and other stuff

This week I got stuck into analyzing the website from a SEO point of view.

This week I got stuck into analyzing the website from a SEO point of view. I used the Screamingfrog  app tool (free) to download CSV reports of all page titles, meta descriptions, H1’s, image alt tags. Then filtered the ones that needed fixing…which was most of them. Its unbelievable the amount of stuff that was wrong or irrelevant to SEO. Just goes to show you how many designers just sell you a website and give you little or very little advice on proper SEO techniques. Anyway that’s why Digital Marketing consultants exist so happy days.

While I was doing the fixes to the SEO stuff I also realised that some of the headings and content wasn’t relevant to Google’s algorithm. I was using Yoast SEO plugin for WordPress, which is excellent as it tells me how rubbish my SEO was, for example no Meta Description is used, title too big, my keyword usage is too dense…but also tells me the readability of the content like a sentence has too many words, not enough transition words (due to, because etc), passive voice etc. Thus, I would highly recommend this plugin for WP CMS users.

So after about a full days work the website is now SEO optimized, the content is also relevant. Here’s waiting for the leads and enquiries to roll in. Hopefully a worthwhile exercise.

I also wanted to take this opportunity to share this article from Moz with you. It shows you How to Use Search Analytics in Google Sheets for Better SEO Insights. I will let Moz talk you through it but at the end of it you have google sheet that will automatically update every month showing how you are ranking against your main keyword queries. That’s pretty awesome for a campaign manager!

Next topic is PPC.

Keep the faith.

Leave a comment